Seven of Cups VII

Seven of Cups VII

Time To Dream A New Dream

The message of The Seven of Cups is that it is time for you to dream up what you want to have in your life. If you have had a plan or a goal, things may have changed. It is time to revisit and check-in with yourself about what you want in your life, based on where you are now. 

The Message

It is time for you to dream your dream and look at the areas of your life that you need to focus on to feel fulfilled. More literally, what do you need to keep you afloat, and what would you like to treasure in your golden cups? Here the cups are: stability/security, a desire for recognition, the areas you feel are ripe for transformation, how you want to be perceived by others, what you would like to learn about yourself, and the depths of self-discovery that you would like to uncover, the riches you would like to gather. 

In a relationship-focused reading, the card is asking you to look at what brings you love. These are known as love languages. The five love languages are: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time, and Physical Touch. It does seem a bit prescriptive, and you could have loads of options for love languages. Still, here the intention is to understand the needs and expressions of love between you and your partners to help create a stronger bond in your relationships.

The Logistics

In Tarot, the number seven is the number that says – don’t give up, keep going, you can do it. The Seven of Cups astrological sign is Scorpio, the water element, and the Planet is the Moon. 

The Card

The bright clear blue sky is the backdrop to a cloud formation of spiritual inspiration, manifesting your desires from a dream state into reality. The Seven golden cups are your seven areas of emotional fulfilment. Each contains a different aspect that represents something that you value.

The Cups represented are: – The Face, the visage you present to the world and how you feel that others see you. The Covered person that looks like a ghost refers to what you are yet to discover about yourself. It is a spiritual growth card; I see it as the wisdom you gain from knowing yourself, as I see that as an act of love. The Snake is the creative sexual element and the process of transformation that comes from that energy. The Castle represents your sense of home and security. The cup of Treasures is how you value your power and how it plays out in the material world, and its influence on you. I believe that has the magical potency of gratitude. This kind comes from the heart in acknowledging and appreciating the material things around you.

The Laurel Wreath symbolises victory, a need for recognition of your power. 

 The Dragon is your mythical demons, how they appear in you and their origins. What magical element they hold in the mysteries they reveal. 

The card’s hero stands with their back to us as they focus on what is in front of them. They bring the unconscious into consciousness their need to discover what motivates them to manifest learning and self-discovery. 

If this doesn’t fit for you

If this doesn’t fit for you, it could be that the message from the Seven of Cups is saying that it is all charming to daydream about the things you want. Still, at some point, you need to take some steps to bring those dreams out of fantasy into reality.

The Seven of Cups encourages you to look at the fears that you have holding you back and the obstacles that might be getting in the way of making things happen. Alternatively, maybe you need to re-examine those dreams to see if they are realistic and achievable, as that might be why they are not happening. Look at what is real from what is an illusion.

The Seven of Cups ask you to commit to your dreams. To remove all elements of fear and uncertainty that places them in the land of unobtainable illusions. Once you start on that path towards attainment, challenge your fears and heal any insecurities.

In some Tarot traditions The Seven of Cups correlates with the seven deadly sins of wrath, envy, sloth, vanity, greed, gluttony and lust.